Merit Badges

Sorry about the delay in posting.  We just returned from a week at the ocean, and while I took my laptop to work a little, the bottom line is that by the end of the day, we were all wiped out from being in the sun all day. 

Meanwhile, the craft therapy I brought along was some easy-to-fold-up-and-carry embroidery.  In particular, some of Mary Jane’s Farmgirl Merit badges.  I joined Mary Janes Farmgirl Sisterhood last August, and I have to admit that I really enjoy earning the merit badges.  It’s like a high-five for living the lifestyle we live (gardening, repurposing, honoring nature, self-sufficiency, crafting).

That’s my version of the quilting merit badge.  Sometimes I feel a little silly and wonder if my self confidence needs a merit badge for doing something I do anyway, but here’s the thing.  Mary Jane’s intermediate and expert level merit badges do push a person out of her box.  Expert levels may mean having to teach other people or clocking in 100 hours on a project or really busting out of one’s box to do something like camping in the back woods alone (this is particularly scary for me). 

So, I just renewed my sisterhood membership, and I’m going to let Mary Jane help push my limits a little more.

While I love Mary Jane’s merit badges, I also find myself attracted to other merit badges that don’t exactly have requirements, like this one from MamaScout:

I plan on ordering several of these to give to my friends who have “been there, done that.”  Similarly, Mary Yeager has an edgy series of merit badges that intrigue me.  Then there are companies like Sisters on the Fly that have what I would call mock merit badges: where earning them is as easy as getting drunk of martinis (literally).

For me, for now, I’m enjoying earning Mary Jane’s merit badges: next up, the Cross-Stitch badge.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

