Super Easy Upcycling

A few months ago, I saw a scarf made from t-shirts in some organic/green catalog.  So I gathered a few t-shirts past their prime and made some myself.

The colors on both of these shots aren’t super.

Here’s a better picture of the true colors:

 

Here’s what I did. 

1) Cut off the sleeves (I left the shirt’s bottom hem intact and cut the neckband off after step 4).  2) Keeping front and back together, fold in half.  3) “Eyeball” the approximate middle of the shirt and cut there – I used a rotary cutter to have a clean line. 4) Measure six inches from the “clean” line and cut again – I found there was about an inch in general leftover from both sides.  All this means I was able to get four pieces (long strips) from each t-shirt (they were large and medium women’s shirts).

5) Then head on over to the sewing machine and put 3-4 strips together randomly using a very small zigzag stitch.   Just make sure the sides of the scarf won’t exactly match up colorwise when you go to sew them together unless you want both sides to be identical.  For the B&W scarf, I sewed together three strips.  For the pink and leopard print, I sewed together four strips.  I think I like the overal length of three strips better than four, but it also depends on what I’ll wear with it.

6) Without caring if the short seams from the strips (from step 5) matched up when the two sides of the scarf came together, I put the right sides together and sewed the long seams on the sides.  I cut off extra fabric along the seam, and then I pulled it inside out and just pinned the two ends together when I sewed the stay stitching along the seams.

I don’t normally work so fast on projects and was a happy gal when I punched out five of these scarves in about an hour and a half.  I still have all the sleeves lying around, so I’m thinking about what to do with them…any suggestions?

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Clothing, Upcycled and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Super Easy Upcycling

  1. Pingback: Super Easy Upcycling (via lionsdaughter) « Living Locally Salt Lake City!

Leave a Reply

