Ahh…summer vacation

I posted the last of my grades about 20 minutes ago, so here’s a loud “WOO HOO” to three months of vacation stretched out in front of me. 

The kids will start their vacation in about two weeks, so I’m especially relishing this time to get some things done before they invariably fragment my day (you know, stopping to get them a snack, stopping to see why the youngest is howling, stopping to take them to the lake, the list goes on and on).

I have an ambitious goal this summer to finish 50 things.  I am the, ahem, Queen of Unfinished Projects, like this sweater:

I know there are at least 100 projects lying around here when I count in those dastardly scrapbooks.  Some projects are small that won’t take too long.  Some, like a knitted dress or a quilt, are going to take a lot longer.  I figure the time between small projects and big ones will average out if I stay consistent.

And I’m going to stay consistent because…………if I make my goal there’s a spa week-end in California’s wine country at stake. 

My sister and I have started what we are calling the “50/50 Project”.  I need to finish 50 projects; she wants to lose 50 pounds.  We’ve got both positive and negative reinforcement in place along with smaller incentives along the way.  First incentive: finish 5 projects by May 31 and enjoy a professional pedicure.  I’m  on  it.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in 50/50 Project, Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

