S is for Sylvia and Signature

Twice a year, for 16 weeks, a class of students moves through my life.  I wish I could say that I remember all of their names after some years have past.  I can say that I often recognize past students when I’m out and about, but not remembering names often makes it more awkward.

Then there are those students who make an impact on me for whatever reason whether they are exceptionally bright, exceptionally manipulative, or exceptionally needy.  Sometimes I stumble upon a student who just plain likes what I like and has the same interests. 

About two years ago, Sylvia was in a class and she wrote about the Eating Local movement, and ever since then, we’ve shared ideas, magazines, knitting inspiration, and some other things.  So I made decided to make her something because I like her:

It’s a gusseted pillow, based loosely on Hannah Fettig’s Pinwheel Pillow here (on Ravelry).

This last picture shows my “signature.” Seriously, how annnoying is it to run out of yarn within inches of finishing a project?  And then add to it that the yarn was purchased two hours away from my home, which means that finishing it “properly” would mean having to wait at least another five days.  And then I’d have a whole skein of yarn without a purpose after knitting the one needed inch.  Call me cheap, call me unconventional, call me impetuous.  It also happened last fall in this project:

Right…so in this case, the yarn was purchased in Virgina, some eight states away.  My SIL laughed at me and said to call the store to have them send me more, but again, for an inch?

Nope, folks, it’s officially my signature, and now I think it’s dorky cool.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S is for Sylvia and Signature

  1. Pingback: Blue – Part Three – runners and potholders | lionsdaughter

Leave a Reply

