Oh! Kona…

Let me start by saying that I am quilting merely to use up scraps of fabric from this or that project.  My stash has been called “ridiculous” by some, so I’m presently working at alleviating said ridiculous-ness with a chevron quilt inspired by this one.

However, as I started sifting through my fabrics, I realized that what I have is almost entirely prints, and my design philosophy says there should be something calm to which to divert the eye in the midst of busy prints, so I only recently discovered Kona solid cottons.  All the experienced quilters out there must be “tsking” me since everyone knows Kona cottons are where solid quilting fabrics begin.  Well, I’m a grateful novice quilter who now is at least in that loop!!

So, here’s the most recent shipment of Kona cottons (it’s my second thus far):

A bunch of this is actually for the Chevron quilt though the orange and red will have different duties.

And call me a crafty geek, but every, every time I buy Kona cotton, I think of the real Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii (Kona-Kailua), so here’s me in Kona at Magic Sands Beach swimming (body boarding) in the ocean for the very first time ever.

There’s my friend Jenn giving me tips as the tide comes in.  She’s awesome, and she ready to go into labor any day.  On a dreamy level, it’s my every intention to snowbird to Kona in my retirement (yes, I know “to snowbird” is not a proper infinitive verb, but I’m okay with that).

Heading off right now to cut some of that Kona cotton into 2 1/2 inch strips…

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Upcoming Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

