Montana Zen

A year ago a friend called somewhat spontaneously and asked if I wanted to road trip  to Montana with her and our collective five kids.  I said, “Uh, sure…”

In preparation, she secured a camper and I started digging through my maze of unfinished projects to work on during the 16-hour-road trip for both ways.  For whatever reason I grabbed a shopping bag full of leftover felted wool sweater scraps (and some knitting).

We stopped in Billings at Fiberworks where I found the answer for what to do with my sweater scraps.  I present you with “Montana Zen”

Inspiration came from this pattern.  It still needs pressing and the colors are more vibrant in person, but for now, I’m happy to report that it’s 99% finished (to do one small bit of tacking and then pressing).

I named it “Montana Zen” because even while barreling down the Interstate across the boring landscape of North Dakota with kids flopping their arms or legs out of the sleeping loft above the driver’s seat, making these paisleys made me wonderfully relaxed.  But, okay, yes, I did snap at the repetitive “how much farther?” question on occasion.  The bottom line is that when I remember the long haul of the driving a year later, it’s about a dashboard strewn with felted paisleys.

Nearly all of the paisleys are from wool sweaters that I purposely shrunk, and several of those sweaters have a story, like the hot pink one that I wore during graduate school, particularly during the harrowing written exams that took nearly two hours and had stressed me something fierce.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Montana Zen

  1. Jill says:

    LOVE it… Turned out awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

