Hand-Stitching

I’ve got a hankering to hand-stitch here, there, and everywhere.  So here’s how I spent yesterday…

Almost finished with this:

I just need to sew on one more fuschia circle before arranging 11 or so paisleys on a larger piece of felt.  This project was started last August.

Speaking of August, this project is the “August” quilt in a lovely cross-stitch book.  I probably started making this in 2003 (diverting my eyes in embarressment…)

But it’s gorgeous, and I’m excited that it’s almost finished.  Yesterday I spent the day filling in the white on the quilt itself.  After that, I need to finish the “yard” and then it’s on to back-stitching, and this baby has a LOT of backstitching, so there’s no end date in sight just yet.  Maybe I’ll just try to finish it before this August.

On the frustrating side of things:

I’m working on stitching my Buttomed Up  badge for Mary Jane’s Farm Sisterhood, and we’re supposed to stitch onto muslim, but I have this great idea to stitch onto felt instead, so I just worked the badge with the paper overlay, thinking it would be *Presto* instant and easy.  It was very easy to stitch it, except that…

When I pulled off the paper, the embroidery pulled too, and I don’t like it.  So, I’ll be redoing my buttons badge.  The very, very, very, very good news is that I tested a swatch off embroidery transfer paper on the wool felt, and voila!!  It transfers marvelously, so I’ll be picking up some printable transfer paper when I head to Minneapolis tomorrow.

In other news, I’m inspired to make a skirt inspired after this Boden Skirt – not the colors, but the banding down the seams.  I’ve got some green velour/velvet for next winter…maybe I’ll embroider a little on it too…that’s a summer project though…see, I get ahead of myself.

Lastly, this is so unrelated to making and finishing projects, though it’s my personal little soapbox du jour:

I haven’t worn these all winter because, well, it’s been winter and freezing, so I put them on again for the first time in months to vacuum out the car (kids are disasters to car carpets), and just want to shout out that your feet will love you if you wear these “shoes.”  Going barefoot uses something like 23 muscles in our feet that “get soft” in our high tech tennis shoes with all their padding and support.  I recommend Vibrams, love them, will run in them soon now that ice is off the roads.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

