Colonial Williamsburg

So, last year my then fourth-grade-daughter came home at least twice with a costume request literally two days before she needed it for some informal school play that was formal enough to invite all the parents for a 15-minute presentation. 

I’m a crafty gal, but I’m admittedly a slow crafter with a small penchant for being, ahem, perfect.  Well, not perfect, but well done, rightly done, nicely done.  So, a two-day notice is generally not enough time to get supplies, make the costume, or even buy one in a pinch.  Last year I was supposed to rally for an immigrant costume; my daughter said she just needed “a shawl or something.”  Didn’t have one.  Sometimes I wonder why they don’t ever ask for princess costumes or flapper costumes because we HAVE those.

So, I am admitting to being “that” prepared mom because I know full well the 5th graders in my district always do a Colonial Williamsburg presentation.  When I asked about it at conferences last Thursday, the fresh-out-of-college teacher said they were “probably” doing Williamsburg in some fashion, maybe not as they had in the past.  Then he added it would be in about 3-4 weeks.

Oh man, that’s fast to put together a somewhat authentic costume, so today we went to a fabric store, and I allowed my 11-year-old to pick up a palette of colors.

Sort of how the dress will be arranged

The color palette. Chipped orange neon nail polish will be banned for final presentation!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

