Cotton: An affair

I am a cotton snob, and here’s the thing, I will almost always buy cotton in some capacity if I walk in to a fabric store.  And it’s getting so that I nary even glance at the cottons in the franchised stores because their cottons are often thin or coarse.

But today I bought fabric at the big box because I was in a super rush scuttling about St. Paul and Minneapolis because I needed to get home for when my children got off the bus (I live 100 miles from the Twin Cities, so that severely cramped any leisurely lolling and shopping – oh, I would have loved to have wandered around 50th and France, or, heck, even just Target).  Anyhoo.

So, I’m on this bender to finish projects around here, so I needed fabric solids.  Big store had them, and the cotton was tolerable.  I was good and just bought half yard sequences of about six colors.  What the big store did NOT have was velvet trim, so I made a serious diversion in my highly regimented time schedule and went into the heart of St. Paul to an independent store called Threadle Yard Goods (sigh…love).  Learned a few things:

1) Their solid cottons put my newly purchased other stuff to shame (dang it).  I repeated one color in particular and told myself I would use the other stuff as table runner backing or something.

2) Velvet trim…can it get anymore lovely for winter accents?  But dang, it’s expensive.  $5+ for 17 inches.  But it’s so terrifically soft and wonderful and pretty and I could go on on with pleasant adjectives to describe it.  I’m planning on applying it tomorrow, so that’ll be tomorrow’s pic.

3) There is something to be said for small shop customer satisfaction.  The ladies behind the counter were super helpful and accommodating.  Not that the big store people weren’t kind, but the lady who cut my fabric offered to send swatches even if I were to call and just explain what I’m looking for…could be a dangerous proposition…

4) Cotton: same kind lady said the prices of cotton are going up, up, up.   Husband has been saying this same thing for about six months as he follows  the financial links to world news (not that he’s “into” cotton like I am).  I’m feeling like I should be investing maybe? 

5) SALE – Oh, my, for the very softness of cotton corduroy that is 40% off.  Luxuriously soft, soft like our little bunny rabbit Max.  Good thing I have a coat pattern that I have been wanting to start.  Bought 3 yards.  I need to check the pattern tomorrow to see if I need more fabric because….they will ship me more if I do.!!  Love Threadle Yard Goods

Okay, I bought some more corduroy to make a dress for my daughter.

 
 
 
 
 
I won’t use the corduroy for a while yet, but for now it really does make me happy.  As for regular cottons, I am trying very, very hard to only buy solids as to work through my bins of prints.  I started cutting scraps for a quilt yesterday…needed the solids to balance all the prints that tend to be a little loud.
Looking forward to tomorrow’s work.
 
About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

